Netflix and Chil…dren’s Animation

By Leah Lane

Meeting at Netflix.

I can honestly say that today has been one of the most formative days of my life in regards to my future and career. When I first saw the itinerary for the day, I was immediately excited. First, we broke off into small groups with industry professionals. Each group was formed based on interests in the entertainment industry. I was fortunate enough to spend the day with my close friend Mackenzie Caroll, where we met with writer and director, Kieran Valla. We immediately connected with Kieran, discussing our mutual involvement with Thursday Nite Live, Hofstra’s live sketch comedy television show. We went on to discuss everything from pitching shows, creating pilots, finding talent, to our favorite shows, comedians, and directors. Meeting with Kieran in this more casual setting really allowed us to connect with him and truly understand the world of writing and directing in a new way.

The Netflix offices.

Our next stop was Netflix! As soon as we stepped into the lobby, our jaws dropped. Between the trophies, the massive animated wall, the enormous statue of Eleven from Stranger Things, and the custom candy, we were in awe. After grabbing snacks and custom Netflix water bottles, we headed into a conference room where we met with Amanda Beckner and Glenn Nano. Amanda is a manager in the indie films department and Glenn Nano is a product manager. While I really enjoyed meeting with both of them, I really connected with the work that Amanda was doing. It was so incredible to see what goes into finding, acquiring, and selecting the indie films that Netflix airs.

Our next and final stop of the day was at Warner Brothers animation. I can easily say this was one of the most incredible experiences of my life. I grew up watching and admiring shows like Powerpuff Girls, Looney Toons, and Teen Titans. To be able to meet with the people who make shows like these a reality was overwhelming in the best way. One of my dreams is to be able to develop an animated children’s television series. To be able to meet and get advice from industry professionals doing this, was invaluable. On top of that, their offices were also just super cool. Today was a day I’ll never forget, and I can honestly say this trip is already changing how I think about the entertainment industry and my future in it.

Now it’s time to get some sleep and get ready for a day of fun tomorrow!

Leave a comment